Get Adobe Flash player
Paid Advertisement
Paid Advertisement
FacebookTwitterRSS Feed

Qualifying for 10 local offices this week



If you’re interested in running for local office you’ll have ample opportunity this year, with 10 county seats up for grabs. Qualifying started Monday and runs through this Friday, March 11.
    Local elected offices that will appear on the ballot in 2016 are : sheriff, currently held by Donnie Craig; commission chair, held by Rob Jones; district 2 commissioner, held by Becky Denney; tax

commissioner, held by Sharon Troglin; clerk of court, held by Gail Brown; probate judge, held by David Lindsey; magistrate judge, held by Allen Wigington; coroner, held by Kevin Roper; board of education post 1, held by Mike Cowart and board of education post 4, held by Peggy Andrews.     Based on informal statements they have made, it is assumed  incumbent for the commission chair (Rob Jones) seek re-election but no formal announcement had been made by press time.
    As of presstime, the following candidates had qualified to seek election: Donnie Craig (incumbent) for sheriff; former sole commissioner Billy Newton for commission chair; Becky Denney (incumbent) for district 2 commissioner; Jennifer Jordan for clerk of court; Allen Wigington (incumbent) for magistrate judge; David Lindsey (incumbent) for probate judge; Mike Cowart (incumbent) and Katherine White for school board post 1; Sue Finley for school board post 4; and Bradley McKinney and Mark Godfrey for coroner.
    Tax Commissioner Sharon Troglin has announced her retirement. Darrin Satterfield has announced publicly that he will seek office of tax commissioner, but had not qualified at press time.
    Qualifying times are Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. and Friday from 9 a.m. to noon.
    Primary elections for these local offices will be on Tuesday, May 24. If a runoff is required, it will be held on Tuesday, July 26. The general election for these offices will be held on Tuesday, Nov. 8 in conjunction with the presidential election.
    Qualifying fees are as follows: sheriff, $1,943.28; commission chair, $1,979.28; district 2 commissioner, $306; tax commissioner, $1,591.05; clerk of court, $1,591.05; probate judge, $1,591.05; magistrate court, $1,591.05; coroner, $401; board of education seats, $50.
    The Pickens County Board of Elections and Registration is located at 83 Pioneer Road, Jasper, Ga. 30143. They can be reached at 706-253-8781.